Hockey: Schedule & Venue for the 2023 Asian Champions Trophy

Photo of Indian Hockey team

Indian Hockey team gearing for Asian Champions Trophy Hockey 2023.

Chennai has been chosen as the host city for the sixth edition of the Asian Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy, scheduled for 2023. From August 3 to August 12, the upcoming Champions Trophy will showcase the involvement of the finest six Asian teams.

Bhola Nath Singh, the Secretary General of Hockey India, conveyed his immense pride at India’s selection as the host nation for the upcoming Hero Asian Champions Trophy. This choice serves as a testament to India’s increasing eminence in the world of hockey.

Singh expressed his anticipation for the Hero Asian Champions Trophy Chennai 2023 and emphasized their determination to shine not only as hosts but also as competitors in the tournament.

Asian Champions Trophy Hockey 2023: Participating Teams, Location, and Tournament Format

The upcoming tournament will witness the participation of six teams, with India serving as the host country. Joining them will be Pakistan, South Korea, Japan, China, and Malaysia, creating a diverse and competitive field. For the entirety of the tournament, the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium in Chennai has been selected as the sole venue to host all the matches.

In the Asian Champions Trophy Hockey 2023, all six teams will be grouped together to engage in a round-robin format. After this initial stage, the top four teams will advance to the semi-finals. The victorious teams from the semi-final matches will then clash in the Final, while a separate playoff match will determine the 3rd and 4th place rankings.

Asian Champions Trophy 2023 Tournament Schedule.

In the inaugural game of the tournament, South Korea and Japan will go head-to-head. The first day of the tournament will showcase a total of three matches, culminating with India’s match against China as the final game of the day. Here is the complete list of fixtures for the group stage matches in the Asian

Champions Trophy 2023:

August 3:

  • South Korea vs Japan at 4:00 PM
  • Malaysia vs Pakistan at 6:15 PM
  • India vs China at 8:30 PM

August 4:

  • South Korea vs Pakistan at 4:00 PM
  • China vs Malaysia at 6:15 PM
  • India vs Japan at 8:30 PM

August 6:

  • China vs South Korea at 4:00 PM
  • Pakistan vs Japan at 6:15 PM
  • Malaysia vs India at 8:30 PM

August 7:

  • Japan vs Malaysia at 4:00 PM
  • Pakistan vs China at 6:15 PM
  • South Korea vs India at 8:30 PM

August 9:

  • Japan vs China at 4:00 PM
  • Malaysia vs South Korea at 6:15 PM
  • India vs Pakistan at 8:30 PM

Playoffs and Knockout Matches:

August 11:

  • Fifth Place Game – 5th vs 6th at 3:30 PM
  • Semi-Final 1 – 2nd vs 3rd at 6:00 PM
  • Semi-Final 2 – 1st vs 4th at 8:30 PM

August 12:

  • 3rd Place Playoff – Loser SF 1 vs Loser SF 2 at 6:00 PM
  • Final – Winner SF 1 vs Winner SF 2 at 8:30 PM


Follow Sports 360 Degrees!

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top
Share on Social Media