2024 Boston Marathon: Live Updates

Photo of 2024 Boston Marathon.

Monday sees the 2024 Boston Marathon, a renowned event on Patriots’ Day drawing a large crowd to Massachusetts. Tune in for live updates and extensive coverage.

Runners traverse the 26.2-mile course through Hopkinton, Ashland, Framingham, Natick, Wellesley, Newton, and Brookline, concluding with an exciting finish on Boylston Street in Boston, cheered on by enthusiastic spectators.

Zdeno Chara, once the Boston Bruins’ captain, has embraced marathon running. He recently finished the Boston Marathon in 3 hours, 35 minutes, and 9 seconds and has expressed plans to compete in the forthcoming London Marathon.

Meanwhile, during the Boston Marathon, four Boston police officers aided a runner in distress near the finish line. Despite temperatures hovering in the 60s, deemed pleasant for onlookers, it presented difficulties for the marathoners, as it was relatively warm for their exertions.

Des Linden, celebrated for her groundbreaking win in the 2018 Boston Marathon, where she became the first American woman to triumph in more than thirty years, finished this year’s race with evident happiness, clocking in at 2 hours, 28 minutes, and 27 seconds.

Rob Gronkowski, serving as Grand Marshal, unquestionably enjoyed himself at the Boston Marathon, infusing the event with his characteristic energy and excitement. In a further display of his jubilant demeanor, he capped off the day by energetically spiking his inaugural pitch at Fenway Park.

Hellen Obiri, representing Kenya, clinched victory in the women’s category of the Boston Marathon for the second consecutive year, crossing the finish line in an unofficial time of 2 hours, 22 minutes, and 37 seconds. This feat establishes her as the first woman in nearly two decades to achieve consecutive wins in the event.

During the latter stages of the race, Obiri engaged in a tight contest with fellow Kenyan Sharon Lokedi, ultimately surging ahead in the final stretch to secure the win. The women’s competition was fiercely contested, with numerous elite runners vying for the lead as they tackled the challenging Heartbreak Hill section.

Meanwhile, Sisay Lemma, representing Ethiopia, emerged triumphant in the men’s division of the 2024 Boston Marathon. Leading from start to finish, he completed the race in an impressive time of 2 hours, 6 minutes, and 18 seconds, a significant improvement from his previous best finish of 30th place in 2019. Lemma maintained a commanding lead over his rivals, asserting his dominance as they traversed Heartbreak Hill.

In addition to the thrilling marathon action, Monday also marked One Boston Day, a solemn occasion dedicated to honoring the five victims of the tragic 2013 Boston Marathon bombings. The day commenced with a poignant wreath-laying ceremony, underscoring the resilience and solidarity of the city in the aftermath of adversity.

A large group of runners start the Boston Marathon near the Hopkinton starting line. Today’s race includes 30,000 participants from more than 100 countries. At just 22 years old, Eden Rainbow-Cooper wins the Boston Marathon championship in the wheelchair category, completing her race in 1:35:11.

Marcel Hug from Switzerland claims his seventh Boston Marathon victory, setting a new course record in the men’s wheelchair race with an impressive time of 1:15:32. The event begins with former New England Patriots star Rob Gronkowski acting as the grand marshal, kicking off the celebrations.

Gronkowski, a former tight end and four-time Super Bowl winner, receives the B.A.A.’s Patriots’ Award, recognizing his patriotism, philanthropy, and inspiration, as well as his promotion of goodwill and sportsmanship.

The men’s and women’s wheelchair races start shortly after 9 a.m., featuring notable competitors like four-time women’s wheelchair champion Manuela Schar of Switzerland and former Boston Marathon winner Daniel Romanchuk from the United States in the men’s category.

Stay tuned on Sports 360 degrees WhatsApp Channel to get more infos on 2024 Boston Marathon!

Esteemed participants in this year’s race include several past marathon champions and notable runners who are gearing up to take on the course today. This group features Meb Keflezighi, who secured victory in the 2014 Boston Marathon, and Des Linden, the winner of the 2018 edition. Additionally, Amby Burfoot, who claimed the championship in 1968, will also be in the mix.

Noteworthy among them is Chris Nikic, a celebrated runner with Down Syndrome, easily recognizable by bib number 7796. Moreover, Zdeno Chara, the former captain of the Boston Bruins, will be making a return to participate in the Boston Marathon, distinguished by bib number 3333.


Follow Sports 360 Degrees!

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top
Share on Social Media